Abaddon magazine

Music magazine

Tuesday, June 6, 2023

A-Z release self-titled debut album and video for “Stranded”

A-Z, the new band formed by Fates Warning icons Ray Alder and Mark Zonder, has released their self-titled debut album today via Metal Blade Records. Additionally, fans can check out the new music video for “Stranded” below.

“This is Ray’s favorite song on the record. I love the dynamics and the powerful ending. Can’t wait to play it live,”

says Mark Zonder of the track “Stranded”

In early 2020, famed former drummer for Fates Warning and Warlord, Mark Zonder, began working on new material with the vision of beginning a new, full-time band that would offer something different from his current catalog. The mission was to deliver straightforward, no-frills hard rock that speaks to a broader audience. The end result, which sees Zonder reunite with Fates Warning lead vocalist Ray Alder, along with bassist Philip Bynoe (Steve Vai, Warlord), guitarist Joop Wolters, and keyboardist Vivien Lalu, is A-Z!

1. Trial by Fire
2. The Far Side of the Horizon
3. The Machine Gunner
4. Rise Again
5. Window Panes
6. Run Away
7. Stranded
8. At the Waters Edge
9. Borrowed Time
10. Sometimes
11. The Silence Broken (Bonus Track)