Abaddon magazine

Music magazine

Tuesday, November 28, 2023

Anima Hereticae have released their debut album

The Finnish blackened death metal ensemble, Anima Hereticae, has unleashed their inaugural album upon the world today, bearing the enigmatic title “Descended from the Mountains”. Their music possesses a transformative quality, vividly transmuting the mysticism inherent in the northern nature into a sonic tapestry. This album not only represents a musical evolution but also a lyrical continuation of the themes explored in their EP “Ov Behest”, which saw the light of day two years prior. Delving into the etymology of the album’s name, one finds a continuation of the band’s characteristic lyrical motif: despite our origins in nature, we find ourselves detached from our roots and ancestral essence on various levels.

The very title of the album is a nod to our forebears, dwelling in the rugged mountainous regions, celebrated for their strength, fortitude, and resilience.

In their compositions, the band masterfully weaves a narrative that embodies the captivating allure and unforgiving harshness of nature. This duality is most prominent in the grandiose titular track, also presented visually in a stunning accompanying video. As listeners traverse this auditory odyssey, they are graced with the talents of esteemed guest vocalists Mikko Heikkilä (Kaunis Kuolematon & Dawn of Solace) and Gogo Melone (Aeonian Sorrow), adding yet another layer of depth and brilliance to this full-length musical opus.

1. Arcane
2. Two Wolves
3. Kraken
4. Cimmerian Darkness
5. Kalman väki
6. The Vault of the Night
7. Descended from The Mountains

Ville Rutanen – vocals & bass
Taneli Jämsä – guitar & backing vocals
Teppo Ristola – drums

Photographer: Teppo Ristola Photography