Abaddon magazine

Music magazine

Death Dies premiere “Lame” (“Blades”) video

Italian black metallers Death Dies are premiering the new video for “Lame” (Italian for “Blades”).

The song is the second single from their new album “Stregoneria”, due out on June 2nd 2023 via Time To Kill Records.

“’Lame’ is one of the first songs composed for the new album ‘Stregoneria’. Musically, it picks up from our old school roots – acts such as Blasphemy, Beherit and the black metal scene of the ’80/‘90s, revisited in a modern key, obviously in the sound but also in the rhythmic aspect of the whole song.
The lyrics focus on the concept of ‘words’ and the destructive power they have, whether they are a dogma, a precept, a commandment or even the simple expression of an idea. Words seen as ‘blades’ of a knife that can be used to obtain food, as well as to kill someone for no reason. Cowardice leads to confusion among the emotional levels between those who receive and those who communicate and this is used to the detriment of the ‘weaker’ part. We can call it religion, prevarication, conditioning, mobbing… there is no precise identity. The only element in common is the effect they have”.

With their roots firmly planted in the scene that has supported them from the word go, Death Dies are ready to branch out and show the rest of the globe exactly what they’re made of.

“Stregoneria” is the sum of the influences and different musical experiences of the band members. The album is often characterized by a combination of black and speed metal riffs, intertwined with melodic openings not far from the typical sounds of the Italian and Greek occult and black metal schools. “Stregoneria” exhibits the band’s majestic-yet-malevolent sound in its most powerful form yet, but raw and robust like never before. A culmination of all the hallmarks of the classic sound of Death Dies: thick, pulsing guitar walls and straightforward songwriting driving the point home.
The album also features a new version of the Evol’s classic “Sorrow of the Witch”, which has been re-recorded and updated with a more refined and bombastic production.

1. Argento
2. Lame
3. Riflessi di sogni meschini
4. Impero
5. Abiura l’eterno
6. Mystery forest
7. Vento d’erebo
8. Falce e corona
9. Al Shi’ra
10. Sorrow of the witch

Special Guests:
Andy “Bull” Panigada from Bulldozer: lead guitar on “Argento”
Lucho Sanchez from Blizzard Hunter: lead guitar on “Vento d’Erebo”
Simon Fèrètro from Mater A Clivis Imperat: lead guitar on “Mystery Forest”,” Abiura l’Eterno” and “Falce e Corona”
Mr. Yasuzuky from Abigail: Vocals on “Mystery Forest