Abaddon magazine

Music magazine

Sunday, December 4, 2022

Dvne announce exclusive livestream performance

UK’s progressive post-metal outfit Dvne released their seminal second album, “Etemen Ænka”, which was hailed by fans and press alike around the globe, including “contender for the best metal release of 2021” by Germany’s Fuze magazine. Despite the global pandemic, Dvne managed to play two successful European tours and for the first anniversary of “Etemen Ænka”, Dvne are delivering a special four-song live performance. The band gave the tracks a new twist with the inclusion of violin and vocals by award-winning musician Lissa Robertson, and additional keyboards from Evelyn May Hedges. This Saturday, March 19th, fans can tune into Bandcamp for this electric performance filmed in their hometown Edinburgh, with the help of producer and longtime collaborator Graeme Young, who produced “Etemen Ænka” and “Asheran”.

Dvne – Livestream Performance
Saturday, March 19, 2022
7pm CET / 6PM GMT / 2pm ET / 11am PT
Fans can pre-order tickets here: http://songs-of-arrakis.bandcamp.com/merch/cycles-of-asphodel-2

Dvne are a band of great contrasts, weaving titanic heaviness and intricate gentleness together, complex lyrical ideas with engaging storylines, and this has only been expanded upon and concentrated on second album “Etemen Ænka”.

“It is a very dense and layered album which will reward multiple listens, and while this is becoming a recurring aspect of our music, we feel that we went further with it this time. It’s also a very polarising album, emotionally speaking. The heavy sections are, well, very heavy, while the clean sections are much more intricate and delicate,”

explains the band.

Their name is a reference to the timeless sci-fi epic Dune by Frank Herbert, this is very much a genre that they happily inhabit, and is once again reflected in the lyrical content of the record. While wanting to create a universe of their own, they also cover more serious topics related to the society we live in, and while Asheran was very much focused on their relation to their surroundings and the environment, Etemen Ænka focuses much more on social issues and more specifically on inequalities and the human relationship with power.

Starting June 22, Dvne will hit the road with American stoner-metalers High on Fire. More Dvne tour dates to be announced soon!

Dvne On Tour 2022
Jun 22 – UK Nottingham, Rescue Rooms
Thu Jun 23 – UK Leeds, Brudenell
Fri Jun 24 – UK London, The Garage
Sat Jun 25 – UK Brighton, Chalk
Sun Jun 26 – UK Bristol, The Fleece