Abaddon magazine

Music magazine

Friday, December 8, 2023

Horn reveals tracklist of upcoming album “Verzet”

The Teutonic black/pagan metal project Horn has revealed additional details about its next album “Verzet”, whose release is scheduled on May 16.

Horn was formed as a solo project in 2003 and is a solitary musical undertaking up to the present day. The initial drive behind the project was to create nature-themed Black Metal, focusing on the relation of man and nature in a regional context. The old material, being mainly concerned with detailed descriptions of nature and incorporating rather upbeat, folk-influenced riffing, has made way for more sinister themes and soundscapes over the years. What has remained throughout the course of nine studio albums is the distinct Horn-sound, featuring siren-like lead guitars, classical Black Metal-styled vocals as well as clean chorals and a serious folkloristic approach far from the jolly drunken Viking tunes celebrated these days.

The title of the new album – “Verzet” – is a Dutch word standing for “Resistance” so, in this journey consisting of 8 songs for 38 minutes running time, you may expect topics like rebellion, but also the importance of perseverance and principles. The project mastermind was responsible for vocals and for playing guitars, bass, dulcimer, mandolin, and the lyrics, while additional contribution came for drums, cello, and vocals.

The album has been recorded, mixed, and mastered at Sculpt Sound Studios in Cologne (Germany). Enclosed you can see the artwork by Timon Kokott Art-Work.

1. Pein Muss – Gerieben Als Korn
2. Alpenrekorder
3. Galgenblech
4. Aufstand
5. A Hill To Die On
6. Parole Sono Pietre
7. Protektor
8. Verzet