Abaddon magazine

Music magazine

Saturday, May 21, 2022

Illusory share first single “Besetting Sins”

Set to release their third full length“Crimson Wreath” this coming May 2021 via Rockshots Records, Greece’s prog power Illusory are sharing the record’s first single “Besetting Sins”.

The band states:

“This is the opening track of the album and also our first single off the “Crimson Wreath” album. A very heavy song with fast guitar gallops, an Eastern flavor, a melodic chorus, and a progressive twin guitar melody in the middle of the song. It speaks about religion and especially about Seven Deadly Sins.”

Having opened for such legendary acts Blue Oyster Cult, Warrel Dane, Geoff Tate, and Gus G, Illusory’s new album “Crimson Wreath” is the next step in their widely praised evolution to follow 2016’s Polysllabic (7hard/7us) and 2013’s “The Ivory Tower” (The Leaders Records).

Melodic, riffy, cerebral, and complex “Crimson Wreath” is a very emotional and melodic release, yet heavy and strong at the same time. Both new fans and ones who have been listening to the band for years will indulge themselves in this latest offering of classic, progressive, epic, and thrashy performances. Lyrical themes found on “Crimson Wreath” are mostly anti-war, but the full length also includes a thematic unit consisting of three songs that deal with human loss.

1. Besetting Sins 
2. Acedia
3. Crimson Wreath 
4. Immortal No 
5. All Shall Fade 
6. All Blood Red 
7. The Voice Inside Me 
8. S.T. Forsaken 
9. Ashes To Dust 
10. A Poem I Couldn’t Rhyme 
An Opus Of Loss And Sorrow:
11. Pedestal I: Past Forever Last  
12. Pedestal II: The Isle Of Shadows 
13. Pedestal III: Agony’s Last 
14. Fortress Of Sadness 

Illusory is:
Dee Theodorou – vocals
George Papantonis – guitars
Greg Bakos – guitars
Niki Danos – bass
Makis Vandoros – keyboards
Costas Koulis – drums