Abaddon magazine

Music magazine

Tuesday, November 28, 2023

Infection Code return with a blistering single, “The Colour Out Of Space”

Italian death-thrashers Infection Code return with a blistering single, “The Colour Out Of Space”, from their ninth full-length album “Sulphur”, due out November 17th 2023 via Time To Kill Records. 

“’The Color Out Of Space’ is the fourth song we wrote for the album. It took us a long time to complete it. We threw away many versions before coming up with the final one, as we thought we would use the main riff in the chorus so as to have the typical verse-bridge-chorus song structure. Which is not common for our way of composing. It is a very powerful song, straightforward and with many references to classic melodic death metal.
The lyrics are a tribute to the famous short story by the master H.P. Lovecraft. We were inspired by this story and eventually ended up writing a personal reflection on the current state of our society which seems to be infected by an invisible entity from a distant world, here to destroy all sorts of individualism and make people completely dazed. The video was conceived with the help of director Paolo Gambaudo”.

The band is back after one year from their previous effort,“Alea Iacta Est”, with a new sound and a new sonic landscape to explore. “Sulphur” is the first album with the new line-up and the first written by new guitarist Chris, who joined the band in 2021.

Infection Code focuses on manifesting crushing riffs laced with visceral grooves that echo somber melodies. Eschewing all trends, the album takes every disparate element that Infection Code previously employed, such as industrial tones, more prominent death and thrash metal influences, and amplifies them, while juxtaposing each next to each other, with genuinely unpredictable and exciting consequences. The tracklist also includes a cover version of At The Gates’ masterpiece, “Blinded By Fear”.

Lyrically, the album is based on some sci-fi and horror novels, and stories used as allegories to introduce personal reflections on the decline of human civilization. The authors are Howard P. Lovecraft, Philip K. Dick, Ben Bova, Ray Bradbury, Dan Simmons and Valerio Evangelisti.

“Sulphur” was recorded, mixed and mastered at The Cat’s Cage Recording Studio by Francesco Salvadeo.

The artwork and the cover have been created by Simone Strige of STRX Art.

1. Maze Of Death
2. The Colour Out Of Space
3. Evil Side Of Mercy
4. Deleted Error
5. Old Viral Order
6. Protoplasm Hope
7. Something Wicked This Way Comes
8. Blinded By Fear
9. Lurking Creepy Love

Spawned in 1999, Infection Code began to weave its own breed of metal based out of Alessandria, northern Italy. The band initially grabbed elements from many industrial and metal bands like Godflesh, Neurosis, Red Harvest, Napalm Death and Melvins, yet their actual musical output never shared a similar sound to the aforementioned artists.

In recent years the band’s sound has started incorporating a rawer and more direct approach, paying tribute to the roots and showing more evident thrash and death metal influences, without however removing the industrial imprint.

Over the past twenty years, the band has toured multiple regions throughout Italy and Europe and kept busy recording. To date, Infection Code have released 8 full-length albums which dragged them out from the depths of the underground and into the forefront of the Italian metal scene.