Abaddon magazine

Music magazine

Sunday, September 24, 2023

Kingfisher Sky released their new EP “Walk The Plank”

Dutch symphonic rockers Kingfisher Sky have released their new EP “Walk The Plank”. On this mini album the band explores a more intimate and acoustic musical landscape, in contrast to the heavy sounds of last year’s “Rise” EP. Formed in 2005 by drummer Ivar de Graaf (ex-Within Temptation) and singer Judith Rijnveld, Kingfisher Sky combine influences ranging from progressive and symphonic rock to traditional folk music. The band released four full length albums and two EPs, the latest being last year’s “Rise” EP (2021).

During the Covid19 lockdown in 2020, they also recorded two acoustic EPs at home: “The Quarantine Sessions”, featuring acoustic versions of the band’s own songs, and “The Winter Sessions”, featuring acoustic cover songs.

Now Kingfisher Sky are ready to present five brand new songs in an acoustic setting with their new EP “Walk the Plank”!