Abaddon magazine

Music magazine

Sunday, December 10, 2023

Memoriam presents the official lyric video for the title track, “Rise to Power”

Memoriam need no more introduction – they are living legends of old school death metal and probably the fastest and most creative band of the genre at the moment. Memoriam have built their own loyal fanbase over the past seven years and have developed their own musical identity.

The new album, “Rise to Power”, is now available in stores and is preaching to the choir, because besides the essential death metal groove, Memoriam are becoming more variable with each song and are constantly adding new dynamics to their sound – from brutal grooves to doomy melodic parts to aggressive Nordic riffing, “Rise to Power” has become the band’s most diverse album to date.

To celebrate, the band presents the official lyric video for the title track, “Rise to Power”.

The band states:

“So here we are with our fifth album release “Rise To Power”.
For us it is a new level on our style and approach to the music and lyrics contained within it.
New styles and moods weave in and out of each track and we have a great feeling of accomplishment on this release. As with all our previous album releases the messages contained lyrically are full of hope but also warnings. We do not preach but just hope that the listener can take something from the words and maybe think about the messages contained.As a famous quote says , “Those who forget the past are condemned to repeat it”.
Memoriam hope you enjoy listening to “ Rise To Power” as much as we enjoyed making it.
There are plenty of mood shifts from almost melodic to full on brutality so something for everyone!
Memoriam 2023

The album will be available as a limited deluxe boxset, on colored vinyl and on CD! It can be ordered here: http://www.reapermusic.de

Once more the production by Russ Russell at Parlour Studios is rounding out the terrific songwriting and top-notch recording which comes across as charmingly “down to earth” but wonderfully differentiated to give every detail on “Rise to Power” its deserved space.

From the earliest days of the band, Dan Seagrave (Benediction, Dismember, Hypocrisy, Suffocation etc) is a steady accompaniment delivering the visuals to their music. Having created the artwork for the first four Memoriam albums, he has also created the cover for “Rise to Power”.

1. Never Forget, Never Again (6 Million Dead)
2. Total War
3. I Am the Enemy
4. The Conflict is Within
5. Annihilation’s Dawn
6. All is Lost
7. Rise to Power
8. This Pain

Memoriam are:
Karl Willetts – Vocals
Frank Healy – Bass
Scott Fairfax – Guitar
Spike T. Smith – Drums