Abaddon magazine

Music magazine

Sunday, October 1, 2023

Mezzrow reveal new single and music video for ” King Of The Infinite Void”

Mezzrow are back after 30 years! The Swedish thrash metal force will release their second and new studio album “Summon Thy Demons” on April 21st on their new label Fireflash Records.

Today the band reveals their third, new single and a music video for their smash hit “King Of The Infinite Void”.

“First song on the album and we are extremely satisfied with it straight through! This one points towards all the dictators and warmongers in the world of today, in a sort of metaphorical way”,

comments the band.

“Summon Thy Demons” is available as a Digipak CD, Gatefold Vinyl in clear/purple marbled (ltd. 500 copies) and red/blue marbled (ltd. 500 copies), and digitally.

1. King Of The Infinite Void
2. Through The Eyes Of The Ancient Gods
3. Summon Thy Demons
4. What Is Dead May Never Die
5. De Mysteriis Inmortui
6. Beneath The Sea Of Silence
7. On Earth As In Hell
8. Blackness Fell Upon The World
9. Dark Spirit Rising
10. The End Of Everything

Mezzrow are confirmed to play at the Keep it True Festival and perform their first show for the new album and their first show in Germany!
The show will take place on April 20th along with Sodom, Visigoth, Tyrant and many more. The band will do a signing session as well and sell new merchandise and of course their new album “Summon Thy Demons” – don’t miss it!

Mezzrow built themselves a name in the thrash metal scene during the late eighties with their critically acclaimed demo tapes, “Frozen Soul” and “Cross of Tormention”. In 1990 they released their classic debut album “Then Came the Killing” through Active Records, a subsidiary of Music for Nations. The album is still today considered as one of the best, if not the best, thrash metal releases from Sweden and Scandinavia. This classic album was re-mastered together with all their demos, and released through Hammerheart Records in May 2022.

During 2021 Mezzrow rose from the ashes, when bass player Conny Welén (ex-Hexenhaus) and singer Uffe Pettersson (ex-Rosicrucian) decided to make a new mark in the thrash metal world of today and have together with new guitarists Magnus Söderman (Nightrage) and Ronnie Björnström (ex-Defiatory, ex-Aeon) written new killer songs, which have pure thrash metal top-class written all over them. ”Of course we have a bit of a new and updated sound, more mature and dark, but it’s still old school thrash metal from the Bay Area that lays the foundation. We refuse to downtune the guitars and you can definitely hear what Uffe sings! Some of the songs are actually a bit melodic, but in a thrashy kind of way. So don’t worry, we don’t do any ballads”, comments Conny Welén. The line-up was completed by excellent drummer Jon Skäre (Defiatory, Hulkoff) and the band is currently laying the finishing touches on the recordings, which will be released in on April 21st, 2023 on Fireflash Records.

“Summon Thy Demons” was produced by Conny Welén, Ronnie Björnström and Magnus Söderman. The excellent mixing and mastering were done by sound wizard Ronnie Björnström (Sorcerer, Meshuggah, 220 Volt a.o.). The artwork for the cover must of course suit the music and therefore it was handled by the great Pär Olofsson who, among tons of other cool covers, recently did the cover for Exodus latest release “Persona Non Grata”. Things fell into place, and the time is right for Mezzrow to leave another exclamation mark on the metal map.