Abaddon magazine

Music magazine

Tuesday, March 21, 2023

Mission In Black release the first single “What Does It Take To Be Alive”

Mission In Black release the first single “What Does It Take To Be Alive” from the upcoming album “Profit Reigns Supreme”! Already this first song shows where the journey of the quintet goes – aggressive growls paired with melodic choruses show more than ever the vocal versatility of frontwoman Steffi Stuber.

Songwriter and guitarist Eddie Stübner:

“A song with a consistently positive message. The lyrics are about not letting yourself be guided by your fears. A song that encourages you to believe in yourself, to recognize your strengths and to follow your dreams…”

Completely new tones? Of course there are enough grievances in the world to blame, but the message of Mission In Black is to never lose hope and to keep fighting.

Mission In Black will release the long-awaited second album on May 12th, 2023. Band founders Andy “Black” Flache and Daniel Tschoepe, together with Simon Schorp, vocal wonder Steffi Stuber and the new guitarist Eddie Stübner, have been able to use the time since the highly acclaimed debut album “Anthem Of A Dying Breed” to write 10 brand new songs and sharpen their own contours. So the upcoming album “Profit Reigns Supreme” can be assigned much more to Melodic Death Metal than the predecessor could claim. The result was “a musical bastard from In Flames & Kreator with female vox & growls”, produced by Sebastian “Seeb” Levermann in his “Greenman Studios” in Arnsberg (responsible for the last Orden Ogan albums, Rhapsody of Fire or Brainstorm).

No question: Mission in Black have matured and are ready to bring their music out into the world, just like they did at Summer Breeze in 2022!

1. Profit Reigns Supreme
2. What Does It Take To Be Alive
3. Patron Of The Downfall
4. Dead Alive
5. The Darkness Within
6. Silence Of A Distant Sky
7. This Curse
8. Dreamcatcher
09. Kill Your Idols
10. A Glimmer Of Hope

Andy „Black“ Flache – drums
Eddie Stübner – guitars
Steffi Stuber – vocals
Daniel Tschoepe – guitars
Simon Schorp – bass