Abaddon magazine

Music magazine

Thursday, September 28, 2023

Neck Cemetery released first single and lyric video

Neck Cemetery refuse to follow any trends: the five guys from North Rhine-Westphalia play their heavy metal the way they love it – sometimes slow, sometimes fast, sometimes serious and sometimes with a wink, but always with a good portion of heart and soul.

After their debut album “Born in a Coffin”, the band played several renowned festivals in the summer of 2022; among others, the Rock Hard Festival (their performance was recorded by WDR Rockpalast and also broadcast live on the Internet) and the Wacken Open Air. Afterwards, they barricaded themselves in the rehearsal room to work on new song material.

These songs form the basis for their second album “Bring us the Head”, which will be released on October 27th via Reaper Entertainment.

Today the band now presents the first single from the upcoming album. “Secret Of Steel” is available now on all major streaming platforms. The official lyric video can be seen below.

The band comments:

“We are very proud to present you the first single from our upcoming longplayer „Bring Us The Head“ today, Neckbreakers. If you are like us and love the stuff heavy metal dreams are made of – swords, badass villains and muscle-bound barbarians who save the day – then “Secret of Steel” is your song. All hail Crom!“

The song was inspired by the 80s cult movie “Conan – The Barbarian” with Arnold Schwarzenegger. But also fans of movies like “Terminator”, “Army of Darkness” or “Escape from New York” will be happy about the album, which comes with another detailed cover artwork by Besil Wrathbone.

The tracklist of “Bring Us The Head”:

1. Overture
2. F.O.A.D.
3. Judgement Night
4. Pet Sematary
5. Behind the Mask
6. Secret of Steel
7. Eye of the Snake
8. The Ballad of Ash

“Bring Us The Head” is available for pre-order starting today. Exclusively at Reaper Entertainment, the record is available in a bundle with the original Neck Cemetery popcorn mug and the iconic retro Click-TV – matching the album title. 

The album was recorded in the spring of 2023 at the “Gernhart” studios in Troisdorf in collaboration with producer Martin Buchwalter, who is well known in the hard & heavy scene for his work with Tankard, Destruction, Tom Angelripper, Paul Di’Anno and Suidakra.

The Night False Metal Dies (7″ single, 2020).
Born in a Coffin (2020)
Behind The Mask (single, 2022)
Bring Us The Head (2023)

Neck Cemetery are:
Jens Peters – vocals
Boris Draeger – guitar
Jörn Reese – guitar
Matt Hauser – bass
Lukas Strunck – drums

Photocredit: Lisa Schlößer