Abaddon magazine

Music magazine

Monday, September 25, 2023

Omnivortex released first single from their upcoming sophomore album

Omnivortex, a Helsinki-based Finnish technical death metal band, has released their first single from their upcoming sophomore album titled “Circulate”. The single entitled “Dwells” is the opening track of the album.

“Dwells is the first song that was written for the album. We also wanted to separate this album from the debut by starting off with full throttle, no questions asked- styled mentality, so it was obvious for “Dwells” to be the opener for the new record. “Circulate” as an album is a whole lot darker, ruthless, and overall heavier than the debut”,

stated by Severi Saarioja, the band’s vocalist/guitarist.

The new release is the first one with the band’s shrunken lineup from a quintet to a quartet. The album features vocals not only from guitarist Saarioja but also from Aaro Österman, who also operates on the drumming helm. Mikko Pylkkö, guitarist familiar from the debut album, now also has shared solo spots with Saarioja, and Mikael Reinikka has cemented his place as the band’s bass player.

The production, recording, and mixing of the album were handled by Teemu Aalto, as with the debut album (known for his work with Insomnium and Omnium Gatherum). The mastering was done by Jaime Gomez Arellano, known for his collaborations with Ghost and Mayhem. “Circulate” is set to be released on the 29th of September.

Mikael Reinikka – bass
Severi Saarioja – guitar, vocals
Mikko Pylkkö – guitar
Aaro Österman – drums, vocals

Photographer: Antti Kontoniemi