Abaddon magazine

Music magazine

Saturday, September 23, 2023

Quasarborn release new video

The substantial 3ʳᵈ album of the Serbian Thrashers! Very distinctive style, with wide variety of influences! Quasarborn can also convince complex!

Singer and guitarist Luka Matković provides insight into the making of the video:

“Since 2019 we have been producing our own videos, with the help of our great friend Jovana Uzelac. For ‘Urobor’ we had a really tight schedule, and there was no way to fit all five of us in the same place at the same time on such short notice. So the idea was to have each member play the song in a specific setting and location and create contrasts – outdoors/daylight, indoors/darkness. I wanted to do an outdoor shot in nature, so Jovana and I traveled to Zagajička brda in northeastern Serbia and did the farthest shots we’ve ever had in a video. Bassist Miloš Tomasović wanted to be filmed on the roof of a building in New Belgrade. Marko ‘Tihi’ Danilović’s drums are the most difficult to transport, so we shot it in the studio, in the dark. Guitarist Dimitrije Čuturilo was filmed in several corners of Tihi’s basement. I edited the footage, and Jovana and Tihi did the colors. It went very fast, and we are very happy with the result!”

After the all-around quick-witted Serbian tech-thrashers have rammed two really massive thrash metal pillars into the ground of the profession in 2018 with their self-released debut “The Odyssey To Room 101” and the follow-up “A Pill Hard To Swallow” 2020, things could only continue positively for this whole special band.

On May 10th, 2023 the – not only stylistically – enormously independent formation has released the current album “Novo Oružje Protiv Bola” first digitally; but this time the more than ever ambitious originators had in mind a much wider distribution of their music.

Photo credit: Jovana Uzelac

1. Novo oružje protiv bola 
2. Urobor 
3. Ne možeš imati sve 
4. Voz 
5. U plamenu 
6. Od kolevke do rova
7. Ogledalo 
8. Menja se
9. Prostor-vreme