Abaddon magazine

Music magazine

Wednesday, November 29, 2023

Resolution 13 get out and explore the “Derelict”

The new album by Finnish industrial group Resolution 13 is called “Derelict”. The band started composing the tracks in 2016 and the recordings took place over several rounds from taht time until 2020 with sound engineer Tero “Max” Kostermaa, who also produced the material along with the band. After 2020, guest vocals have been added by Ville Tuomi. Mixing was by Euge Valovirta (Cyhra) and mastering by Jacob Hansen (e.g. Cyhra, Volbeat, Amaranthe), so the album sounds ‘huge’ and focuses on raw power with epic, massive sounding choruses. The songs are memorable, every one of them leaves it´s signature mark on the listener. They vary from each other in lots of aspects because the band gave a lot of attention to express the feeling the actual song was meant to deliver, yet all the pieces are connected with the recognizable Resolution 13 sound.

The previous album, “Colossal”, was released in 2015 and told the story of the escape form the intergalactic prison planet called “Resolution 13”. Derelict continues the story and this time the prisoners crash land and have to figure out a way out of this situation. The story is set by the first song Out And Alone, in which one of the characters loses lifeline and without any further air and hope, nor anything to grab flying into deeper space…