Abaddon magazine

Music magazine

Thursday, March 30, 2023

Root reissued “Black Seal” after twenty years

The album “Black Seal” from Root is now reissued after twenty years! Moonspell´s frontman, Fernando Ribeiro, was involved as a special guest.

The legendary horde Root has reissued its sixth full-length album “Black Seal“ in September. This Dark Metal opus was recorded at Shaark Studio (Bzenec, Moravia) during the summer of 2001 and contains twelve songs. Redblack Productions released the album at end of the same year back then. Fernando Ribeiro, the leader of Portuguese kings of darkness Moonspell, appears on “Black Seal“ as a very special guest singing his parts along with Big Boss in the song called “Salamandra“.

The album is now re-released on three-panel CD digipak in the cooperation of underground labels Godz Ov War Productions (Poland), Chaosphere Recordings (Portugal) and the Root´s bassist´s Lava Productions. Double vinyl version of “Black Seal“ should be released in 2023 via Monsternation Records.

Cover artwork designed Mr. Seth Haymon.

1. The Festival of Destruction
2. The Incantation of Thessalonian Women 
3. Nativity 
4. His Eyes Were Dark 
5. Black Seal 
6. The Faith 
7. Salamandra 
8. Necromancy
9. Theriak
10. The Mirror of Soul 
11. Liber Prohibitus 
12. Before I Leave! 

Root “Black Seal“ line-up:
Big Boss – vocals
Blackosh – guitars
Igor – bass
Ashok – guitars
Evil – drums