Abaddon magazine

Music magazine

Thursday, September 28, 2023

Torture Squad share “Hell Is Coming” video

Brazilian death-thrashers Torture Squad have unleashed the second new single, “Hell Is Coming”, off of their upcoming new album, “Devilish”, due out September 22nd 2023 via Time To Kill Records.

The band comments:

“’Hell is Coming’ is a progressive death metal piece inspired by the online game ‘Diablo IV’, where Lilith is the main character. In the music video, Lilith is played by the 5 times world champion in cosplay and drag queen Mauricio Somenzari, aka Slowakia.”

“Devilish” is an album surrounded by a dark atmosphere, its lyrics show urges experienced in our century, such as the constant degradation of the Amazon rainforest and the population increasingly affected by psychological illnesses such as anxiety and depression. At the same time, it opens windows of escape for an imaginary world inspired by games, series and fiction books.

In their second album with the new lineup, Mayara Puertas (Voice), Rene Simionato (Guitar), Castor (Bass) and Amilcar Christófaro (Drums) transcend the sound of extreme metal with maturity, incorporating progressive metal, influences from Brazilian music and symphonic elements.

The album also honors Brazilian heroes with a participation of Andreas Kisser (Sepultura) in the track “Buried Alive”, and a tribute to Rickson Gracie the resilient fighter of Jiu Jitsu considered one of the greatest legends in this sport, the theme of the track “Warrior”. The band also mobilized several musicians related to indigenous causes in their country to collaborate on the song “Uatumã”, making an appeal for the preservation of the Amazon in a song that flows in an powerful way with the speeches of the indigenous leader Raoni Metuktire and tribal rhythms.

For the cover art, the band had Marcelo Vasco, a Brazilian illustrator who has already created artworks for Slayer, Dimmu Borgir, Soulfly among others.

1. Hell is Coming
2. Flukeman
3. Buried Alive
4. Warrior
5. Sanctuary
6. Uatumã
7. Thoth
8. Mabus
9. Find My Way
10. Gaia
11. Farewell To Mankind
12. The Last Journey


Mayara Puertas – vocals
Rene Simionato – guitar
Castor – bass
Amilcar Christófaro – drums