Abaddon magazine

Music magazine

Tuesday, June 28, 2022

Tourniquet release “The Slow Cosmic Voyage To Wisdom”

Veteran metallers Tourniquet release “The Slow Cosmic Voyage To Wisdom”, a 77 minute collection of crushing doom, featuring Chris Poland (OHM, ex-Megadeth), Eric Wagner (The Skull, ex-Trouble), Tim Ripper Owens (ex-Judas Priest), Bruce Franklin (Trouble), Doug Pinnick (King’s X).

In between writing for their next full length release – tentatively scheduled for late 2021 – Tourniquet drummer, songwriter, and mastermind Ted Kirkpatrick has assembled and released an epic collection of doom – featuring songs from the Tourniquet catalog, two Black Sabbath covers, and a 25 minute ultra-heavy drone track unlike anything the band has ever done before. “Mission to MACS J1149+2223 Lensed Star 1” – is an ethereal journey through the cosmos to reach a star. The title comes from a blue supergiant star – named “MACS J1149+2223 Lensed Star 1” – discovered in 2016 by astronomer Patrick Kelly through a gravitational lens on the Hubble Space Telescope. At 9.4 billion cosmic light years from earth, it’s the most distant individual star to ever discovered, at least a hundred times more distant than the next-farthest non-supernova star. The entire release has been remastered for maximum effect, and features the dramatic psychedelic cover art by Derek Sheyer.
1. Electric Funeral
2. Memento Mori
3. Lions
4. Going, Going…Gone
5. Gethsemane
6. No Soul
7. In Death We Rise
8. Officium Defunctorum
9. Lord of This World
10. Mission to MACS J1149+2223 Lensed Star 1
I – Navigating the Distant Spiral Galaxy Cluster
II – The Nothingness of the Primordial Black Holes
III – Arrival: 9 Billion Light-years from Earth