Sunday, July 14, 2024
Banner Top

Canadian blackened grindcore sextet Apes will unleash their latest full-length “Penitence” on June 14th via Secret Swarm Records.

Formed in the early 2010s, Apes is renowned for their distinctive fusion of grindcore, black metal, and hardcore. The band was conceived with a singular purpose: to craft heavy and unapologetically relentless music, breaking down all barriers in their path. Their merciless sound, coupled with intense live performances alongside notable acts such as Full Of Hell, Cattle Decapitation, Nails, and Unearth, positioned them as an indispensable force within the Canadian extreme music scene. After releasing a series of EPs and their debut full-length album, “Lightless”, in 2017, Apes joined forces with Translation Loss in 2022 to release “Lullabies For Eternal Sleep”, a widely acclaimed EP that further explores the blending of extreme genres.

The record reaped critical accolades with Knotfest gushing:

“This death metal infused grindcore eviscerator offers up a healthy dose of nihilism and misanthropy and is just devastatingly heavy as it crosses genre boundaries without care. Apes looked at extremity and just simply said, ‘Yes!’” BrooklynVegan wrote, “Sometimes it operates at jackhammer speeds, other times it’s slow and heavy, and other times it offers up nothing but white noise… before unexpectedly exploding into a series of blood-curdling screams.” Added Decibel Magazine, “Hush little baby, don’t say a word, ’cause Apes are gonna traumatize the bejeezus out of you.”

Apes’ “Penitence” delivers eight ravenously heavy and dark tracks that will immerse listeners in an unmistakable sense of impending doom. Skillfully weaving through various nuances of grimness, “Penitence” unquestionably solidifies Apes’ position as influential figures in Canadian extreme music.

“We’re beyond thrilled about Penitence,” notes Alexandre Goulet. “Our signature sound remains intact, but we’ve woven more atmospheric elements into our songs, resulting in what we consider our most refined work to date. Brace yourselves as we unleash these powerful new tracks live!”

In advance of the record’s release, today the band unleashes first single, “Coffin”, featuring guest vocals by Madi Watkins of Delaware-based hardcore powerhouse Year Of The Knife. Comments Goulet:

“Collaborating with Madi was certainly a highlight of this journey; her contribution to our first single is just breathtaking. We hold Year Of The Knife in high esteem and having her on the album is a true honor. To celebrate this release, we’re thrilled to announce a special collaboration with Year Of The Knife on a unique shirt design, which will be available on our Bandcamp next week. All proceeds will directly support Madi’s recovery fund. Join us in supporting this amazing cause while enjoying some killer tunes!”

“Penitence” was recorded by Marc-Antoine Desjardins and Raphael Malenfant at Broil Audio, mixed by Andy Nelson at Bricktop Recording and mastered by Will Putney at Graphic Nature Audio. Artwork was created by the band’s Alexandre Goulet of Goule x Design.

“Penitence” will be released on vinyl by Secret Swarm Records and digitally by the band with a CD and cassette edition to follow.

1. Coffin
2. The Great Fire
3. Shadow Walker
4. Closure
5. Echoes
6. Bottom Feeder
7. Penitence
8. Pillars


Alexandre Goulet – vocals
Patrick Cloutier – guitars
Simon Olivier – guitars
Louis Ladouceur – guitars
Gabriel D’Amours – drums, noises
Philip Roy – bass

Photo by Tom Morin

Banner Content
Tags: ,