Thursday, May 30, 2024
Banner Top

Scottish progressive post-metal artisans Dvne unveil their epic, critically-adored new full-length, “Voidkind”, out today on Metal Blade Records.

Forged in Edinburgh in 2013 by Frenchman Victor Vicart and native Scot Dudley Tait, Dvne have been building a powerful head of steam since their second album, 2021’s kaleidoscopically mesmerizing “Etemen Ænka”, their first release for the legendary Metal Blade Records label, and a concerted hike up the greasy pole for this enigmatic outfit. The record ultimately enabled Dvne to embark on UK and European headlining tours and win spots at such discerning festivals as Hellfest, ArcTanGent, Desertfest, Damnation, and Resurrection. A live EP of reimagined album tunes, 2022’s Cycles Of Asphodel, kept up their profile while satiating demand from a rapidly mushrooming fanbase, and now in 2024, stunning third album Voidkind looks set to propel this expanded five-piece line-up (welcoming Maxime Keller on keyboards) to the top of their game.

The songs on “Voidkind” are more pointed, direct, and memorable, yet the soundscapes retain the radiant, evolving, and hypnotic flow, the effect achieved with fewer layers of sonic ornamentation, consciously urging closer to Dvne’s incendiary live sound. Thematically, “Voidkind” carries on with the band’s narrative which traces a religious group through the generation line from the beginning to its end while the record’s stunning artwork depicts the main motif of this chapter, namely, “a godlike entity seducing and luring followers through their dreams and these followers’ multigenerational journey to reach their god dimension.”

“Voidkind” was recorded between September and November 2023 in Edinburgh at Craigiehall Temple and Byres Farm in Scotland and features the stunning artwork of Felix Abel Klaer.

Next week, Dvne will embark on a European Spring tour which includes shows with Sleemo, Conjurer, and My Diligence on select dates. See all confirmed dates below.

Dvne album lineup:
Allan Paterson – guitars, bass
Daniel Barter – vocals
Dudley Tait – drums
Maxime Keller – keys, vocals
Victor Vicart – guitars, keys, vocals

Dvne live lineup:
Allan Paterson – bass
Daniel Barter – guitar, vocals
Dudley Tait – drums
Maxime Keller – keys, vocals
Victor Vicart – guitar, vocals
Occasional live member:
Alexandros Keros – bass

Photo by Alan Swan

Banner Content
Tags: ,